Roasted Spaghetti Squash Stuffed with Brocolli and Marinara Chicken. 


Not the prettiest picture, but this meal came out pretty dang well. I oven roasted a lengthwise split spaghetti squash in a baking dish with a little bit of water for a half hour on 400•F.  I also filled a tin foil sheet with garlic cloves and olive oil and and wrapped it up and tossed it on the oven rack. Unfortunately, I did not close the packet tightly enough because it tipped over and olive oil/garlic juice spilled out and started burning on the oven floor. I smoked up the joint! 😁. Whoops… Still need to scrub that mess. Any non-toxic oven cleaning tips?

Ok, back to the good stuff. Once the squash was fork tender (do not touch it…I learned the hard way…ouch! Very hot!) I fluffed up the strands with a fork after it cooled for a second. I added in steamed broccoli and then topped it with rotisserie chicken warmed in Rao’s Marinara sauce. The chicken soaked up the marinara and was so tender and saucy! I like a saucy dish!

I put the whole thing back in the oven for a minute to meld together. I then topped the stuffed squash with the salvageable pieces of roasted sweet garlic and a glug of fresh olive oil.

Mr. Foggy Foodie and I each annihilated our respective halves of the squash. We wound up  adding more chicken marinara half way through! It was scrumptious. I remember my mom making me spaghetti squash as a kid and me thinking it was watery. I liked it way better than I remembered. I’m not positive it is on the ok list for this diet, but I wanted something different and I don’t think the sugar content is extremely high in this type of winter squash. Or maybe I’m kidding myself. Any thoughts?

Regardless, it was a tasty success, minus the oven debacle and the burnt finger 😉

Yours in enjoying stuffed vegetables more than stuffed shirts,

The Foggy Foodie

One thought on “Roasted Spaghetti Squash Stuffed with Brocolli and Marinara Chicken. 

Leave a Reply

