Zoodles with Sautéed Veggies, Tuna and Papalote Salsa

Mr. Foggy Foodie and I had some friends over to our new place for Super Bowl 50, the first gathering since moving from our mold abode. I have mixed feelings about entertaining; it gives me a bit of anxiety, but I also love a home full of friends, and laughter and good food. Overall, it was wonderful having our new place warmed by our crew, even though I couldn’t have a beer or most of the amazing food they brought (though my friends did make a few things for me 💗). I also cooked up yummy dips galore so I’d have food to eat, including these recipes:

Cauliflower Hummus http://www.justpaleofood.com/cauliflower-hummus-vegan-dairy-gluten-free/

Dairy Free Veggie Dip http://www.plaidandpaleo.com/2014/09/veggie-dip.html

Chimichurri (with no cilantro, since I think it’s a devil weed 😜) http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/chimichurri-sauce/

There were some fails, including soggy yet burnt kale and spinach chips… I think I used too much oil.  Will try again!

Tonight I was super tired so didn’t feel like shopping and had a bunch of left over veggies. I decided to go back to the zoodles and tuna idea that I cooked the other week but this time kick it up a notch.

I turned them into Zoodles with Sautéed Veggies, Tuna and Papalote Salsa. If you live in San Francisco chances are you’ve experienced the wonder of Papalote’s salsa; spicy and creamy (yet dairy free) and so flavorful. And nothing in the ingredient list I can’t have!  Wahoo!! If you aren’t from here you can learn more/order here: http://www.papalotesalsa.com. You won’t be sorry.

 

This dish turned out really well, and had a good kick. I gobbled it down with glee!

 

pre-mixing it with noodles

 

the coasters are the closest i got to bread 😉

Recipe for 1 large serving (I was hungry!):

Heat olive oil and ghee in skillet

Sautée 1 clove of garlic

Add veggies (I used stuff I had for crudités and failed chips 😉 : green pepper, asparagus, baby kale and spinach, and celery) and cook until you like them. Add some salt.

Crumble in a can of tuna (I used wild planet skipjack)

Add Papalote Salsa (It’s picante, so be ready!)

Add to raw spiralized zucchini noodles.

And enjoy!!!!

If you try it, let me know what you think.

Yours in taking a day off from the grocery store,

The Foggy Foodie

Leave a Reply

