Herb covered slow roasted salmon with asparagus and broccolini…

I took the leap and had guests over for dinner and fed someone other than Mr. Foggy Foodie. My aunts, who are celebrating 30 years together 💝, were my Guinea pigs. My one aunt has been cooking for me for most of those 30 years and she’s super impressive in the kitchen, always providing delicious and healthy meals. I’ve been very thankful for all the nourishing meals and fun times around their table. I have to admit I was super nervous and started looking for receipes which I don’t normally follow, as they sort of stress me out. But this was a special occasion and I didn’t want to mess it up. 

I had a general idea what I wanted to make when I went to Whole Foods. I grabbed a ton of veggies, fresh herbs and some new spices and then for the first time in way over a decade I braved the raw fish station. I haven’t cooked raw fish in eons and really, I only did it a handful of times with the help of an ex. So, this was uncharted territory on my own. 

I told the fish monger I was a newbie to buying and cooking fish and he said “Yay!”. I appreciated his enthusiasm. He helped me pick out the freshest fish, which was wild caught salmon, and even gave me 4 pieces all trimmed and ready to roll. He told me it would be easy and I could do it and told me to come back and let him know how it went. Feeling pretty confident, I headed home. 

I searched the web and settled on using this recipe from The Kitchn. It was super easy to follow (which I did more or less…I’m not one to measure.) I used fresh basil and dill, olive oil, salt, and zest of one lemon. I braved it and picked up the raw salmon pieces with my bare hands (if you know me, this is an epic event!). The texture was super mushy and not all that enjoyable, but I did it and that part was over. Phew! Oh shit, I forgot to oil the dish!! I put on gloves (one time touching it was enough for the day…slow desensitization), and Mr. Foggy Foodie drizzled olive oil while I slid the salmon around. I then put the herb mixture on and let them come to room temp (which was challenging for a food germaphobe) and then popped them in the oven. 

A voila! 22 minutes later they were PERFECT!!! Thanks, http://www.thekitchn.com!

While the fish was cooking I sautéed/steamed some asparagus and broccolini in chicken bone broth, ghee, lemon juice, shallot, red pepper flakes, black pepper and pink salt. 

Here is the finished product:

  
I served it with some tomatoes and basil in olive oil and lemon and salt. Delish! The fish was like butter and not fishy at all. Yum yum yum. 

 

Like our classy paper towel napkins?
 
Everyone cleaned their plates!!! I consider it a grand success. 

Yours in conquering fears,

The Foggy Foodie

Leave a Reply

