Lessons learned…

Hi again!

So, you’ve heard the rules and the motivation. Now what? First and foremost, let me reiterate that I only know so much, am not a doctor and am not meaning to dole out advice, just experience. There, that made me feel better. 

Well, I thought I’d catch you up a little with things I’ve cooked and things I’ve learned. Number one thing I’ve learned is that there is sugar in almost everything. And things that I thought were excellent choices at the beginning were on the no-no list like vinegar and pickled and fermented food, as well as pork and processed meats, even uncured salami (yum!). So, I probably only really fully got on board with this regime about a week ago even though I started on January 4th. I am, however, giving myself some props for getting it going even with initial hiccups in food choices. This is hard, man!

Here’s what’s been happening:  

Made: coconut curry soup with chard and rotisserie chicken. Learned: fish sauce has sugar
   
Made: mashed cauliflower with pre-cooked shrimp and kale. Learned: the Whole Foods fish guy does not approve of reheating cooked shrimp and while i don’t think it did any harm to texture they didn’t pick up much flavor.
 
Made: smoked salmon nori wraps with tahini dip. Learned: I’m not supposed to eat smoked fish or sesame seeds (whoops!)
  

Made: rotisserie chicken taco lettuce cups with freah guac and sauteed peppes and onions. Learned: the NutriBullet is awesome! And this is not the meal to have before sitting close to other humans — or perhaps add less raw garlic to guac.
Made: grass fed beed “chili” and brocollini. Learned: the nice folks at Roam Burgers cooked me some rare burger patties without making me feel like a freak. Meat didnt pick up a lot of flavor but got the job done until I can get myself to cook meat.

 

Made: veggies with tons of spices (cumin, tumeric, ginger…) and almond butter lemon drizzle. Learned: too many cruciferous veggies and spices at once makes for an upset belly at this point.

 

  

Made: boiled frozen pre-cooked snow crab legs and steamed brocolli with melted ghee. Learned: snow crab legs smell gross while boiling but taste good and we are still alive!

 
Made: rotisserie chicken, avocado/kale slop and brocolli. Learned: pretty quick and easy and tasty and totally still loving the NutriBullet.

 
Salad with spinich, arugala, radhiccio, and endive with canned tuna. Learned: Lots of chopping and lots of chewing and eh, it was fine.

 
Made: fresh marinara with bison burgers and zucchini noodles. Learned: I probably should have bought the more expensive spiralizer as my arm was tired after this but i really like zuchinni noodles, yay! Jury is still out on bison.
   

So, there you have it. We are now up to date. Thanks for getting through this if you did!

🙂

The Foggy Foodie

 

Leave a Reply

